2020 Formula 1 World Championship

2020 Formula 1 World Championship

The 2020 Formula 1 World Championship is the ultimate form of motorsport, taking place on the most famous race tracks in the world, with the single-seater cars that epitomise the pinnacle of technology and speed.

Scuderia AlphaTauri competes with the AT01 car it designs and builds itself, with its hybrid power unit supplied by Honda. This year, driving duties fall to the Russian Daniil Kvyat and Frenchman Pierre Gasly.

Rule changes

Continuity is the theme of the rules 2020: the technical regulations have not changed much from last year, which means this year’s cars can really be an evolution of what came before.

There had been talk of change, but this year’s Pirelli tyres are the same as in 2019, following a unanimous decision from the teams to avoid having to make extensive changes to the cars, only to have to do it all over again for 2021 when the rules undergo a massive change. There are five different compounds on offer: the C1 is the hardest, going through to C5, the softest.

For each race weekend, Pirelli supplies three compounds, easily recognisable through the coloured bands around their circumference: white is the hardest, yellow medium and red the softest.

The 2020 calendar

This year, the Formula 1 World Championship celebrates its 70th anniversary and can look back at a rich history of courage and glory, speed and adrenaline, triumph and tears.

It’s a special year and it would have featured the greatest number of races ever, with a total of 22 rounds. But due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the calendar has been heavily modified. Nevertheless, despite all the difficulties and the unprecedent circumstances, the 2020 F1 Calendar featured 17 races.