Buemi started ninth and Jaime tenth, but in the first lap melee, they ended coming round with the Spaniard 11th and the Swiss driver 12th. This meant they found themselves being slowed by Senna’s Renault, but Jaime dispensed with the Brazilian, immediately followed by Séb and the Toro duo then set off in pursuit of Sutil’s Force India whom they dealt with on laps 14 and 15 respectively, so they were back where they started in 9th and 10th before pitting for fresh rubber on laps 16 and 18. By lap 26, Jaime was our only driver in the race, but he was already in eighth place, although the run of pit stops and the fact that Hamilton had pitted the McLaren to change the nose after yet another collision with Massa, meant Jaime now had the Englishman all over his gearbox until he went past at just over half distance. However, when Massa went out with broken suspension he was back to eighth and stayed there to the flag.

Sebastian Vettel seemed to have an easy time of leading the race from start to finish and Jenson Button managed to get his McLaren from fourth to second before the first corner and he too occupied this position to the flag. Fernando Alonso in the Ferrari made up the podium trio at this inaugural Indian Grand Prix. We would have actually moved one point ahead of Sauber at this race, but when Senna needed a late tyre change with just four laps remaining, it promoted Sergio Perez to tenth. This means we are now equal on 41 points with the Swiss outfit, but they are still classified above because of the quality of their results as Kobayashi finished fifth in Monaco. We now have two more opportunities to score points, starting with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on 13th November.