01/08/2021 13:00 UTC


01/08/2021 13:00 UTC


FP1: 11:30 - 12:30 /
FP2: 15:00 - 16:00


FP3: 12:00 - 13:00 /
QUALI: 15:00 - 16:00


RACE: 15:00

The Hungarian Grand Prix was first held in 1986 and has been staged continuously since then, for 34 years, with all races run at the Hungaroring in the height of summer. This event is usually the final round prior to the season’s summer break, when racing and all factory activity has to stop, creating a watershed moment in the year.

That means everyone wants to do well there, because there’s no better way to go on holiday than with the winner’s trophy from the Hungarian GP in your hands.

The Hungarian Grand Prix has played a special role in the history of our team, because it was at this race that a couple of our drivers started their F1 careers, including our most successful alumnus Sebastian Vettel.

Fun and frustration at the Hungarian GP

When the Formula 1 circus first came here in ’86, Hungary wasn’t quite the Forbidden City, but it did provide a tantalising glimpse of life in “Eastern” Europe, with armed border guards, austere living conditions and a sense you were stepping back in time. It was often said that Budapest was a great city to go shopping if there was anything you had forgotten to buy in the Sixties!

These days, it’s a bustling modern city, apart from the magnificent historic buildings and its most appealing natural feature, the River Danube that cuts it into Buda and Pest, the two sides joined by some spectacular bridges.

The actual Hungaroring circuit is fun and frustrating all at the same time: driving a single lap of this twisty “Monaco without the barriers” is a challenge enjoyed by all the drivers, but on race day, the difficulties of overtaking, despite the main straight being lengthened a few years back, can make for the occasional traffic jam.

Lewis Hamilton dominated the 2020 Hungarian Grand Prix, winning from pole and setting the fastest race lap.

9°C Clear sky
1Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)69
2Max Verstappen (Red Bull Racing Honda)61
3Lando Norris (McLaren Mercedes)37
4Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)32
5Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)28
6Sergio Perez (Red Bull Racing Honda)22
7Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren Mercedes)16
8Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)14
9Esteban Ocon (Alpine Renault)8
10Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri Honda)7
11Lance Stroll (Aston Martin Mercedes)5
12Fernando Alonso (Alpine Renault)5
13Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri Honda)2
14Kimi Räikkönen (Alfa Romeo Racing Ferrari)0
15Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo Racing Ferrari)0
16Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin Mercedes)0
17George Russell (Williams Mercedes)0
18Mick Schumacher (Haas Ferrari)0
2Red Bull Racing Honda83
3McLaren Mercedes53
5Alpine Renault13
6AlphaTauri Honda9
7Aston Martin Mercedes5
8Alfa Romeo Racing Ferrari0
9Williams Mercedes0
10Haas Ferrari0